Every state has different laws regarding the possession and sale of Marijuana. Marijuana is federally rated as a Schedule I substance, meaning it is considered highly illegal and is not considered to have any medical uses. Here is more information about Marijuana possession in the state of Texas.
Marijuana Possession Penalties
Marijuana possession in Texas can be a costly lesson to learn if convicted. A fine of up to $2,000 fine can be assessed for simple misdemeanor possession of less than two ounces. The fines only increase from that point. If convicted of a felony, fines can rack up to thousands of dollars up to a maximum of $20,000. Finally, if a person is caught in possession of 2,000 or more pounds, they could hefty fines of up to $50,000.
Possessing even a small amount of Marijuana in Texas can land someone a bit of jail time. The maximum jail sentence for a class B misdemeanor is 180 days. If felony possession is warranted, a prison sentence of up to 20 years is possible, especially if there was intent to sell or distribute the marijuana to others. Life sentences can be issued for possession and sale of large quantities. These are extreme cases but it does happen.
First-time offenses in Texas are eligible for a sentence of rehabilitation rather than prison. While those convicted can potentially face a sentence of multiple years in prison and heavy fines, it is important to always remember that you are innocent until proven guilty. You have a right to obtain legal counsel such as an El Paso possession of Marijuana lawyer to prove your innocence or to negotiate a lighter punishment.